The 2013-2014 National Basketball Association (NBA) season is upon us! Being a basketball fanatic, I am very excited for this upcoming season. There are so many events that took place this off-season: including trades between teams for players, coaching staff hirings and firings, player signings, contract extensions, and even new team names! I have been a loyal fan of the Oklahoma City Thunder ever since I began to watch the NBA, and I have high hopes for the team this coming season. I really do enjoy watching the pros compete against eachother, even if it is not the Thunder! My love for basketball translates for my love for the NBA, and every year you can find me online looking at stats or highlight videos, watching a game on the couch or even at a NBA game physically! This year in particular, I am looking forward to the performance of the Thunder, the playoff race and the come-ups of the rookies of this year's NBA Draft. 
     When I became interested in playing basketball, I also sparked an interest for watching basketball, college and the NBA, but mostly the NBA. I wanted to learn moves and tips from the pros, and at the time I did not have a favorite team like the rest of my friends did. In 2008, the Seatle SuperSonics sold the city's franchise to Oklahoma City, and decided to name the team the Thunder. When I saw this, I saw an oppurtunity to become a fan of a new team, so I did and I've been a fan ever since. The Thunder were not very good as a team when they first made the move to Oklahoma City, but with time, the youthful team grew together and began to win more games. Showing great chemistry, the Thunder rose to the top of the Western Conference in 2011, and have been a top contender since then. The Thunder made a NBA Finals appearance in 2012, but lost to the Miami Heat in a very good seven game series. This year I am hopeful for my team, go Thunder! 
     There are many great teams within the league, and this season, most of the great teams got even better. By this, I mean that the teams with good players and good coaching, signed even better players or made trades for better players over the offseason. The Western Conference is dominate over the Eastern Conference, containing most of the better players and teams. Even more star players from the Eastern Conference and other star players on the not so good teams at the bottom of the Western Conference ended up getting traded to or signed to the best teams of the West, making the West that much more difficult to compete in. The playoff race is always extremely tight towards the end of the season, and this year will be even tougher.
     There is always a lot of hype centered around the top prospects that come out of college to the NBA via the Draft, and this year is no different. NBA teams enter a lottery, based upon the team's performance the passed year. The worse the record of the team, the better the chance of a high pick in the draft. The better prospects in college get picked higher in the draft, while the lower end of the prospects get picked later in the draft. Draft picks then sign with the team they were drafted by, and continue with practice and training camps until the season starts, where they will prove themselves and the team that they were worthy of being drafted. There is a lot of talent that came into the league this year via the Draft, so I'm excited to see how they will perform.   
     Overall, I predict this season to be one for the ages. The Thunder, the playoff race and the prospects this year are all things to keep a close eye on. I love the Thunder, but on a more broad scale I love the NBA. To take it further than that, I love basketball. It's not just a gam



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    October 2013

    Categories

    All